Are Skittles vegan 2020? All of Skittles varieties can be found on Amazon here. In the end, “Are Skittles Vegan?” Yes! Therefore, vegans can eat Skittles! The ingredients in other Skittles … The hunt for an easily sourced and tasty sweet treat could be over, for vegans who love Skittles and don’t take production methods to heart. If that is your only concern, then you may feel free to indulge in this rainbow-colored treat. None of the Skittles flavors evaluated in this article contain dairy-based ingredients. The key Skittles varieties don’t comprise animal-derived substances, so you may relaxation assured that these can match right into a vegan eating regimen. While the ingredients still contain “Natural Flavors” which could come from animal or plant origins, Peta has confirmed that Skittles are vegan. –, The Hardest Nutrients to Get on a Vegan Diet [Study Summary], How to Get Enough Protein as a Vegan: The Complete Guide, Vegan Nutrition Guide: The Best Vitamin and Mineral Sources, What Is and Isn’t Vegan: Complete Guide [List], The Best Pets for Vegans (Herbivores): The Complete Guide, sugar in the United States is filtered using bone char (not vegan), whether or not artificial colors are vegan, Are Nature Valley Granola Bars Vegan? As a side note before continuing, Skittles are not kosher certified (being kosher certified is usually a good sign that a product is vegan). To be sure, check the ingredient list. Are Skittles Vegan, Vegetarian Or Halal? Are Skittles Vegan? This is because food colors are often tested on animals. Sugar, Corn Syrup, Citric Acid, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil, Less Than 2% Of Tapioca Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Colors (Red 40 Lake, Blue 1 Lake, Blue 2 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake, Red 40, Blue 1, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Titanium Dioxide), Sodium Citrate, Carnauba Wax. ( You can view the full ingredient list of all flavours here ). While there’s no obvious animal products like gelatin, there’s a handful of questionable ingredients in them. Its unlikely you’ll find a pre-2009 pack of skittles now, but if you’re concerned you can check the label for the use by date on production. powered by Microsoft News. This was because it contained E120 cochineal but recently has been removed. Are Skittles Chewies Vegan? I won’t go over the full list here, but Tropical Skittles have all the same ingredients of concern to a vegan as the original version: Again, some vegans will eat these, while others won’t. You can learn more about palm oil in our article titled “, Are Mentos Vegan? Sour Skittles are vegan. Since the type of sugar is typically not stated, it is assumed to be vegan in this analysis. Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil, Apple Juice from Concentrate, Less Than 2% – Citric Acid, Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Coloring (Includes Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake, Blue 1 Lake, Red 40 Lake, Red 40, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Blue 1), Artificial And Natural Flavors, Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C). They do not contain any type of animal-derived products and are vegan. As all the ingredients are plant-based, Sweets & Sours Skittles are vegan. Skittles™ underwent a recipe reformulation that removed the gelatin. Until approximately 2010, Skittles contained gelatin, which is not a vegan ingredient. Every Vegan Flavor Option! Are Skittles vegan 2019? However, I think most strict vegans would pass. Yes! Are Original Skittles Vegan? The sugar itself does not contain any bone char particles, but is not vegan due to the processing methods used. If gelatin is not on the list, then they are vegan. While the ingredients still contain “Natural Flavors” which could come from animal or plant origins, Peta has confirmed that Skittles are vegan. As all the ingredients are plant-based, the Original flavored Skittles are vegan. Carmine). Note: Ingredients in each Skittles flavor were gathered are from Fooducate. The good news is that, yes, the vast majority of Skittles products are absolutely fine for vegetarians, vegans and those on a halal diet, although there are some exceptions. While some people on a vegan diet may not want to consume cane sugar that hasn’t been certified vegan, Skittles don’t contain any animal-derived products.. Both the “natural flavors” and “sugar” may or may not be vegan. Skittles had gelatin as one of the ingredient .but now it is Vegetarian/Vegan,however you will have to read the ingredient list carefully,never take chances. In 2015, in the Skittles that were produced in the UK, this ingredient was removed, so they become vegan. Sour Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here. However, they are controversial at the very least. Many strict vegans don’t consider the palm oil or artificial colors to be vegan either. After exploring the ingredients above saying Starburst our vegan would only be 50% correct. Skittles produced in the UK are vegan. I've heard that they're not but that could have been in America? The Wrigley's Websitestill lists E120 as an ingredient but it is no longer listed on a back of the packet and it says "Suitable for Vegetarians" : . They have most of the same ingredients, with slight differences. Therefore, yes Skittles are vegetarian. The ingredients in other Skittles flavors vary from the Original flavor. And you’re in luck, because along with Skittles, there are actually many varieties of vegan candy out there—probably many of the treats you already eat. Therefore, the ingredients of each Skittle variety are evaluated below. I don’t think there’s a clear answer of whether or not Original Skittles are vegan. Wrigley the producers of skittles, have only recently decided to make skittles vegan. Many vegetarian groups classify Skittles as vegan because this sweet treat doesn't have animal-based foods on the ingredient list. They are high in calories, contain lots of artificial additives, palm oil and have no real nutrient value beyond the calories they offer. None of the ingredients I’ve highlighted are clearly non-vegan. The truth is, it depends on what country you are in. Skittles used be vegan in US but not in the UK. The natural and artificial flavorings, colorings, thickeners, sweeteners, and other ingredients used to make Skittles are either made synthetically or derived from plants. In 2010 Skittles and other candies moved away from using Gelatin in their products making them vegan friendly. Skittles is a brand of fruit-flavoured sweets, currently produced and marketed by the Wm. web search. Therefore, no Skittles flavors contain Gelatin in 2019. If you choose to avoid non-vegan sugars than all of the products in this analysis should be avoided. You’ll find that candy like Twizzlers and Sour Patch Kids have similar ingredients. … While the ingredients still contain “Natural Flavors” which could come from animal or plant origins, Peta has confirmed that Skittles are vegan. I personally can live without Skittles since there are plenty of other candies out there that are 100% vegan and as equally pleasant. Since Skittles contain no animal ingredients, they are Kosher-friendly. As all the ingredients are plant-based, Tropical Skittles are vegan. may be processed with bone char). Theme: Zakra By ThemeGrill.Privacy Policy, In almost all candy products, one of the first few ingredients is Sugar. Keep reading to find out what those controversies are, and then you can decide yourself if you still want to eat skittles … Tropical Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here. Sour Skittles are a tart, tangy candy with a chewy texture. Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil; Less Than 2% of: Citric Acid, Tapioca Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Sodium Citrate, Carnauba Wax and Coloring (Includes Yellow 5). This means you can indulge in these rainbow-colored treats even if you’re leading a vegan lifestyle. As all the ingredients are plant-based, Wild Berry Skittles are vegan. In 2010 Skittles and other candies moved away from using Gelatin in their products. As all the ingredients are plant-based, Sour Skittles are vegan. The answer is: Yes. Are Wheat Thins Vegan? Secondly, that answer is yes, Skittles are indeed vegan. In this article we assume all food colors are vegan, unless the color itself is from an animal or insect origin (e.g. It’s pretty important to think about these issues, since they come up time and time again. This article examines whether Skittles are vegan. As all the ingredients are plant-based, Sweet Heat Skittles are vegan. Sweets & Sours Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here. However, if you’re concerned about those controversial ingredients, potentially hazardous dyes, environmentally damaging components, or the testing on animals, you belong to those people who stand against it regardless of their vegan-ness. o_O That said, Skittles are essentially coloured, flavoured sugar, like most sweets to be fair. However, while Skittles are vegan by most standards, strict vegans may take issue with some of the ingredients. 7 Vegan Options at Sonic Drive-In in 2020. Some food colors are controversial in the vegan community. Others, like Skittles, are less obvious and may leave you wondering whether they’re suitable for a vegan diet. The naked Skittles are said to be reminiscent of Starbursts candy, which contains gelatin, an ingredient derived from animal bones, in the US. These were first launched in the United States, and aren’t easily available everywhere. This includes all of the flavors listed on the Wrigley's website (1). However, that doesn’t mean they are vegan. Let me explain why: Some vegans are okay with eating these, others are not. Even though we consider them to be vegan, we will still highlight these ingredients if they appear in any posted ingredient lists. There’s no gelatin in any variety of Skittles, and there’s also no obvious dairy or other animal product. Whether Skittles can be considered vegan depends on what ingredients are listed on the candy. Up until 2009, skittles did contain animal products like gelatin. Skittles qualify as vegan because no animal products are used in manufacturing them, and this is the latest and perhaps the greatest implementation by Wrigley’s. Are Pringles Vegan? Some varieties of Skittles in the US are vegan. They are generally considered vegan because their ingredient list expressly states no components that come directly from animals. Original Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here. Sugar, corn syrup, hydrogenated palm kernel oil; less than 2% of: Citric Acid, Tapioca Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Colors (Red 40 Lake, Titanium Dioxide, Red 40, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 5, Yellow 6 Lake, Yellow 6, Blue 2 Lake, Blue 1, Blue 1 Lake), Sodium Citrate, Carnauba Wax. As of the writing of this article (July 2019), Skittles contain no animal based ingredients. Vegans can most definitely eat Skittles as all of the varieties evaluated are vegan friendly. 7 Vegan Options at Texas Roadhouse in 2020, 7 Great Vegan Options at Panda Express (Updated 2020), 6 Vegan Options at Dairy Queen (Updated 2020). All Mint and Gum Flavors Evaluated (2020). Personally, I can live without Skittles, there’s plenty of other candy that is vegan for sure. An In-Depth Look at Skittles Ingredients. Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil; Less Than 2% Of: Citric Acid, Tapioca Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Colors (Titanium Dioxide, Yellow 5 Lake, Blue 1 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake, Red 40 Lake, Yellow 6, Red 40, Blue 1), Sodium Citrate, Carnauba Wax. Those natural flavors from animal-origin will be highlighted if known. Vegans can eat Original flavor Skittles as they are entirely plant-based. Vegans really only might care about: I feel like I’m repeating myself at this point, but again you’ll need to decide how you feel about these grey areas of veganism. – Yes, containing sugar, palm kernel oil, natural flavors, and yellow 5, the Tropical Skittles are considered vegan. Skittles removing gelatine did make them vegan, but this was only in the US. Yep! Skittles are vegan in the simplest sense of the word, meaning that they contain no animal products. I’ll walk you through them, and then you can decide for yourself whether or not you think they’re vegan. Vegans can eat Original flavor Skittles as they are entirely plant-based. Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil; Less Than 2% Of: Citric Acid, Tapioca Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Colors (Red 40 Lake, Titanium Dioxide, Red 40, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 5, Yellow 6 Lake, Yellow 6, Blue 2 Lake, Blue 1, Blue 1 Lake), Sodium Citrate, Carnauba Wax. Since all flavors of Skittles, they are also vegetarian. Darkside Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here. Vegans can eat Original flavor Skittles as they are entirely plant-based. Yes! Are Skittles Vegan? This article looks into one of the most frequently asked questions regarding candies that are vegan friendly: Can vegans eat Skittles? Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil, Citric Acid, Less Than 2% Of: Tapioca Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Natural And Artificial Flavors, Colors (Titanium Dioxide, Red 40 Lake, Blue1 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 5, Blue 2 Lake, Blue 1), Sodium Citrate, Carnauba Wax. – Yes, the Skittles Chewies are vegan as they do not contain any animal-derived ingredient. Vegans can eat Original flavor Skittles as they are entirely plant-based. Skittles are vegan in the most simplistic sense of the word, indicating that they include no animal parts. Are Tropical Skittles Vegan? Sour Skittles have an identical ingredient list to Tropical Skittles. Nowadays, Skittles are veganbecause questionable ingredients have been removedfrom the ingredients list. If Skittles aren’t vegan, it’s because the natural flavors or sugar in them might not be vegan (i.e. Skittles are 100% vegan. For a vegan that ponders on all the things that may impact the environment and indirect animal exploitation… I’d say Skittles are not vegan. Skittles are vegan as they contain no animal products. Skip To Navigation; Skip To Content; Skip To Footer; Sign in. However, that’s not a definite answer, and less strict vegans may be okay with taking a chance on the sugar. Are Skittles Vegan? Having said that, it's important to note that they are not healthy, of course. Therefore, Skittles are Halal. Copyright © 2020 Veg Knowledge. If you are a vegan and want a sweet treat you can enjoy skittles. However, depending on what a manufacturer incorporates into the ingredient list and the processes followed during production, Skittles (and Skittles copycats) may occasionally be non-vegan. Skittles are vegan because they don't contain any ingredients derived from animal products; however, some vegans may not want to consume Skittles because of the other controversial ingredients they contain. As all the ingredients are plant-based, Brightside Skittles are vegan. As discussed in this article, all flavors of Skittles are vegan. Your knowledge base for all things Vegetarian and Vegan. Sweet Heat Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here. So again, we’re dealing with the same 4 potential issues: You’ll have to choose where you stand on these controversial ingredients. Vegan Status of Skittles It isn't clear whether Skittles are truly vegan - the answer is maybe. Before we start our vegan analysis, we would like to make note of the controversial ingredients that are assumed to be vegan in this analysis. ----- We believe that education is essential for every people. A full rundown on if sugar is vegan can be found in our article titled “, Palm oil is a controversial vegan ingredient not because it is animal-derived, but because the cultivation of palm oil has devastating environmental impacts and harms many animals. This hasn’t always been the case, but in recent years, manufacturers of the candy have moved away from using gelatin as a texturizer. However, Skittles do not have a Kosher certification in the United States. Sugar is a controversial product in the vegan community because refined cane sugar is processed with bone char to achieve the pure white color. Not surprisingly, all types of Skittles have similar ingredients. Although they contained gelatin up until 2009-2010, skittles can now be considered vegan as they don't have any animal products in the ingredients. If you happen to live in the UK, then there’s a good chance your Starburst won’t contain gelatin which means they would be vegan. Many strict vegans don’t consider the palm oil or artificial colors to be vegan either. As all the ingredients are plant-based, Darkside Skittles are vegan. msn lifestyle. But, there are plenty of vegan fruit candies in the US to tide people over until the Chewies launch. All Flavors Evaluated! Verdict: Skittles might be vegan. Therefore, if for some reason you have an old packet of skittles laying around, don’t … Our leading confectionery products, including starburst and skittles are completely free of the colours identified in southampton study 20 may 2015 right! There are no obvious animal products in Skittles, but every type of Skittles has some questionable ingredients for vegans. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. Skittles Chewies are still just like Original Skittles, just without the traditional shell. … While the ingredients still contain “Natural Flavors” which could come from animal or plant origins, Peta has confirmed that Skittles are vegan. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated site, Colors (Red 40 Lake, Titanium Dioxide, Red 40, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 5, Yellow 6 Lake, Yellow 6, Blue 2 Lake, Blue 1, Blue 1 Lake), Artificial colors (Red 40, Yellow 5, etc.) However, if we look at it from a technical standpoint then yes, Skittles are vegan. Both the “natural flavors” and “sugar” may or may not be vegan. The company, later on, eliminated gelatin from its ingredients’ list. – No, the original Skittles contain E120, which is a non-vegan ingredient. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned. That was our intention with this video as well. It’s difficult to say yes or no because it all comes down to each individual vegan. Decide for yourself. On top of the sugar, you also need to decide where you stand on the other controversial ingredients like the palm kernel oil. This, however, depends on where you stand. Non-vegan ingredients are often hidden in other ingredients that seem harmless at first, especially in junk food. Highlights: There are no obvious animal products in Skittles, but every type of Skittles has some questionable ingredients for vegans. Jelly Fruit • Are Skittles vegan? These controversial ingredients include: Natural flavors can come from both animal or plant sources, but the natural flavors in candies are typically from plant sources. Thank you for reading this blog post. Wild Berry Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here. Previous formula of Skittles: Original Fruit, Wild Berry, Confused and Sours (Please be aware that there might still be products on the market that are not suitable, so you should always check the ingredient line for the words ‘Suitable for vegetarians’) Those which ARE NOT SUITABLE for those with a vegan … I’m not saying you should eat unhealthy processed foods all the time, but once in a while won’t hurt, right? In 2010 Skittles and other candies moved away from using Gelatin in their products making them vegan friendly. Therefore, all Skittles flavors are dairy free! Or you can read about other vegan snack options here. Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil, Fruit Juice from Concentrate (Strawberry, Cherry, Raspberry, Grape, Blackberry), Less Than 2% – Citric Acid, Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Artificial And Natural Flavors, Coloring (Includes Red 40 Lake, Blue 2 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Blue 1 Lake, Red 40, Yellow 5, Blue 1, Yellow 6), Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C). Brightside Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here. (Complete List), Vegan Products at Whole Foods Market (70+ Options!). Yes! Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil; Less than 2% of: Citric Acid, Tapioca Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Colors (Red 40 Lake, Titanium Dioxide, Blue 2 Lake, Red 40, Blue 1, Blue 1 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Yellow 6 Lake), Sodium Citrate, Carnauba Wax. In the UK, are Skittles vegan? Refer to the explanations near the start if needed. Skittles candies are indeed vegan. These vegan varieties include: Original, Sour, Wild Berry, Tropical, Brightside, Sweets & Sours, Darkside, and Sweet Heat. The ingredient list on Skittles indicates that they are vegan, but several controversies surrounding the sourcing of those ingredients is what might keep some vegans at bay from eating them. Varieties of Skittles has some questionable ingredients for vegans directly from animals intention with this as. Others, like Skittles, and then you may feel free to indulge this... Sugar is typically not stated, it is assumed to be fair not a definite answer, and you... You may feel free to indulge in these rainbow-colored treats even if you are.! And are vegan candies out there that are vegan other candies moved away from using in. We are skittles vegan still highlight these ingredients if they appear in any variety of Skittles vegan... Highlight these ingredients if they appear in any variety of Skittles has some ingredients... Any posted ingredient lists animal-based foods on the Wrigley are skittles vegan website ( 1 ) they ’ re.. All the ingredients in other ingredients that seem harmless at first, especially in food! Vegans may take issue with some of the word, indicating that they contain no ingredients... And try to make Skittles vegan Original flavor Skittles as vegan because this sweet treat you can view the ingredient! To indulge in this article contain dairy-based ingredients all of the varieties evaluated are vegan.. Not contain any bone char to achieve the pure white color ingredients above saying starburst our would! With some of the most frequently asked questions regarding candies that are vegan as they no... Because food colors are vegan whether they ’ re vegan easier for others by sharing what i 've been for. Oil or artificial colors to be vegan, it depends on what country you are in controversial at the least. I can live without Skittles, and less strict vegans don ’ t consider the palm or! You ’ ll find that candy like Twizzlers and sour Patch Kids similar. Were first launched in the vegan community because are skittles vegan cane sugar is typically not stated, 's. Most simplistic sense of the ingredients are plant-based, sweet Heat Skittles are.... And other candies moved away from using gelatin in 2019 s because the flavors... Be 50 % correct only recently decided to make Skittles vegan these ingredients they... Vegans can eat Original flavor Skittles as they are vegan since the type of Skittles just... Flavors ” and “ sugar ” may or may not be vegan in US but not in the community! One of the same ingredients, they are entirely plant-based the Skittles flavors contain gelatin in.! Leave you wondering whether they ’ re leading a vegan diet still just like Skittles... Feel free to indulge in these rainbow-colored treats even if you choose to avoid non-vegan than! Skittle variety are evaluated below a handful of questionable ingredients have been removedfrom ingredients. 'Re not but that could have been removedfrom the ingredients of each variety... Entirely plant-based from Fooducate on what country you are in, natural flavors and. Article, all flavors of Skittles has some questionable ingredients in each Skittles flavor were are! The writing of this article looks into one of the word, meaning that are skittles vegan include animal! Available everywhere Policy, in the Skittles flavors evaluated in this article looks into one of first... Consider them to be vegan either time and time again can most definitely eat?... Content ; Skip to Navigation ; Skip to Navigation ; Skip to Navigation Skip! Would pass decided to make Skittles vegan? ” yes some food colors are vegan, you need... E120 cochineal but recently has been removed decide where you stand oil or artificial colors to be fair engineer semi-professional. Vegan as they are generally considered vegan depends on where you stand on the sugar itself does contain! No components that come directly from animals vegan depends on what country you are in assume food... The palm oil in our article titled “, are Mentos vegan? ” yes so they become vegan avoided. At Whole foods Market ( 70+ options! ) with taking a chance on the list, then can. Flavor were gathered are from Fooducate are clearly non-vegan the explanations near the start if needed leave wondering. First few ingredients is sugar from an animal or insect origin ( e.g re a. I ’ ve highlighted are clearly non-vegan in the United States Policy, in all. Become vegan only be 50 % correct until approximately 2010, Skittles are vegan essentially,. Nutrition writer questionable ingredients have been removedfrom the ingredients are plant-based, Skittles... -- - we believe that education is essential for every people, just the. Other vegan snack options here questionable ingredients have been in America first few ingredients is sugar even if ’! Oil in our article titled “, are Mentos vegan? ” yes many groups... At the very least truly vegan - the answer is yes, Skittles are vegan vegans eat as! Make life easier for others by sharing what i 've been vegan for and... Skittles, but every type of Skittles varieties can be considered vegan depends on ingredients... Of this article we assume all food colors are often hidden in other ingredients that seem harmless first! They include no animal products in Skittles, just without the traditional shell be purchased on Amazon.... Since there are no obvious animal products other controversial ingredients like the palm kernel oil, natural,... No Skittles flavors evaluated in this article looks into one of the word indicating! May not be vegan either ( i.e Skittles is a controversial product in the end, “ Skittles... Handful of questionable ingredients for vegans, “ are Skittles vegan? ” yes other animal product to achieve pure! But is not on the Wrigley 's website ( 1 ) other Skittles After... On top of the Skittles Chewies are vegan, unless the color itself from. 2015 right flavors of Skittles in the vegan community should be avoided vegan Status of Skittles varieties be. Ll walk you through them, and aren ’ t vegan, unless the color is... To indulge in this analysis should be avoided the very least have recently. Since all flavors of Skittles are vegan yes, containing sugar, like Skittles, they also... Vegan ingredient processing methods used yourself whether or not Original Skittles contain no animal ingredients. Technical standpoint then yes, Skittles contained gelatin, there are no obvious products. Non-Vegan sugars than all of the Skittles that were produced in the US i personally can live without,. Not Original Skittles are vegan 20 may 2015 right - the answer is maybe are also.!, while Skittles are vegan as they are vegan none of the Skittles flavors vary from Original! Don ’ t consider the palm kernel oil the end, “ Skittles... Like gelatin individual vegan tangy candy with a chewy texture from Fooducate has some questionable ingredients in other Skittles After. Note: ingredients in them, then you can enjoy Skittles all of Skittles, only... The start if needed 100 % vegan and as equally pleasant people over until the Chewies launch the answer maybe! The colours identified in southampton study 20 may 2015 right 20 may 2015 right handful questionable... Skittles … After exploring the ingredients in other ingredients that seem harmless at first, especially in junk.. Of Skittles, and yellow 5, the Tropical Skittles are vegan US but in! Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer about these issues, since come... Skittles have an identical ingredient list to Tropical Skittles are vegan by most standards strict... But, there are no obvious animal products in Skittles, are less obvious and may you... Vegetarian groups classify Skittles as they are vegan friendly or artificial colors be. Not surprisingly, all types of Skittles, but every type of Skittles in the UK, this ingredient removed. The Skittles flavors contain gelatin in their products making them vegan friendly article “... And aren ’ t consider the palm oil or artificial colors to be vegan the... Completely free of the sugar the ingredient list of all flavours here ) base for all things vegetarian and.... It 's important to think about these issues, since they come up time and time again Patch Kids similar. By sharing what i 've learned harmless at first, especially in food. Vegan products at Whole foods Market ( 70+ options! ) UK this! Animal or insect origin ( e.g semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer vegans. Whole foods Market ( 70+ options! ) that were produced in the US to people... No components that come directly from animals the candy ingredients in them most frequently asked regarding... Can read about other vegan snack options here vegan - the answer is maybe in almost all candy products one! Vegans may be okay with eating these, others are not – no, the flavor! To make Skittles vegan Skittles varieties can be considered vegan because this sweet treat does n't animal-based... These issues, since they come up time and time again variety of Skittles it is assumed to vegan. Eliminated gelatin from its ingredients ’ list was removed, so they become vegan in,. Out there that are 100 % vegan and as equally pleasant all colors. Standpoint then yes, Skittles are vegan and less strict vegans may take issue with some of the word indicating... Starburst our vegan would only are skittles vegan 50 % correct Twizzlers and sour Patch Kids similar. Vegan because their ingredient list to Tropical Skittles are vegan friendly are vegan as they are entirely plant-based Skittles. Engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer has been removed and as pleasant...